A Travellerspoint blog

Longford - Day 2

Friday 7 February 2014

Forecast for Longford today is mostly sunny with a temperature range of 15 to 26 degrees.

We started the day with a trip to the newsagent for papers, and a visit to the servo for a gas bottle refill and diesel. Back at camp we spent the morning relaxing in the sun reading our papers. After lunch we had a look around Longford, which was established in 1813 when free settlers and convict labourers were re-settled form Norfolk Island. The district prospered when a number of wealthy settlers were given quite large grants of land and the convict labourers to work their properties. In 1842 three Baulch brothers with their wives and families arrived in Tasmania and settled in the Longford/Cressy district. Quite a few of these early family members are buried in the Christ Church Cemetery in Longford.

Lass O'Gowrie Hotel built 1846, now a private residence

Lass O'Gowrie Hotel built 1846, now a private residence

J J's Bakery appropriately located in the old Flour Mill built in 1834

J J's Bakery appropriately located in the old Flour Mill built in 1834

Working Men's Club built in 1860 now a private residence

Working Men's Club built in 1860 now a private residence

Christ Church Longford built in 1839

Christ Church Longford built in 1839

Longford Town Hall originally a theatre attached to the Pub next door

Longford Town Hall originally a theatre attached to the Pub next door

Blenheim Inn built in 1846

Blenheim Inn built in 1846

Posted by TwoAces 22:27

Email this entryFacebookStumbleUpon

Table of contents

Be the first to comment on this entry.

This blog requires you to be a logged in member of Travellerspoint to place comments.

Login